//google analytics

Reviews of Dolan's Pub

Below are some reviews from customers of Dolan's Pub, Limerick.

For more reviews you can view Dolan's on tripadvisor.

Customer reviews - Dolan's Pub Limerick

2017

GOOGLE

May- Richard O Donoghue - "Great live music venue, good food, drink & service"

April - Elk Hunter - "Live music ! Food and drinks, great atmosphere"

March- Shane Byrne "Music 7 nights a week,excellent pints,great staff very friendly,great meals from breakfast to lunch."

January - Damien Wilmot " Great pub. Live trad music sessions in the bar. Multi venues with popular acts. Good food and great selection of beers and spirits "

TripAdvisor

Uploaded May 23rd

Uploaded May 23rd


2016

Making Limerick Count

September 12th 2016 

 

 "I've discovered that the kind of un-commercialized cultural experiences fit to make a tourist wet themselves can be found right here in Limerick City if you know the right folk. My favorite so far is a pub in a less-than-savory side of downtown called Dolan's. It's a cozy, candlelit joint with a booth reserved for musicians who play a traditional Irish session every night. I was puzzled, though, when I saw them stop between each song to sip their beers and chat. When I commented on their unorganized set, a new friend of mine quickly pointed out that the Irish Session culture is not performance based. "They're not playing for us," he explained, "it's social time for them. The conversation between tunes in a session is as important as the tunes themselves." I was enchanted. Soon he pulled a tin whistle from nowhere and much to my surprise, sat and asked to play a tune. They recognized the reel and joined him, first the guitar, then the harmonizing fiddles and finally the flute. I wasn't sure if it was real, or if I'd been cast as an extra in a James Cameron movie. 
Dolan's is a delightful best-kept-secret sort of attraction."


Captain Sensible

August 26th 2016

Venues don't come much better than Dolans in Limerick.. cosy bar, class food, nice sounding live room - the Buzzcocks play here in a couple of weeks.. they're gonna love it.

I have to admit the Damned were debating our agents sanity when we pulled up outside a fairly nondescript docklands bar - but once inside you get it. The place is perfect, right down to the pubs cute little Shih Tzu doggy named Lulu.

My beret scarcity problem was solved by local music guru Eoin Devereux who persuaded a nice lady called Elaine to donate hers to the cause (many thanks!!) and after a superb set from Theme Tune Boy we rattled through the current setlist.. inc me new faves Stranger On The Town & 13th Floor Vendetta. No manic dancing from Monty tonight though as our keyboardist had managed to bust his belt somehow..

A wonderful evening which included my first taste of Guinness Dublin Porter too. Marvellous stuff!


 

 Lonely planet

Limerick's best spot for live music promises authentic trad sessions and an unbeatable gig list, as well as cutting-edge stand-ups in two adjoining venues.

Read more: http://www.lonelyplanet.com/ireland/county-limerick/limerick-city/entertainment-nightlife/other/dolan-s#ixzz43inJvwjF Lonely planet


 

FODOR'S REVIEW

A lively waterfront spot, Dolan's has traditional Irish music every night, and dancing classes from September to May. Dolan's Warehouse, under the same management and in the same location, is a live-music venue with top national and international acts.

This is a popular venue for touring international rock bands, and a good place to see Irish bands as well. Everybody from Evan Dando to Kasabian has played here, and the eclectic line up is well worth checking out. There are actually three venues here -- Dolan's Pub and Restaurant, which has traditional Irish music by local or visiting bands every night; the Warehouse itself, where the big acts play; and a more intimate bar and performance space upstairs, imaginatively called Upstairs.

Read more: http://www.frommers.com/destinations/county-limerick/attractions/236124#ixzz43iuQWIsa


 

Tommy Tiernan

Dolans is the best little rock and roll venue in the world

- Tommy Tiernan

23rd Apr 2014


 

“Traditional Irish Pub/ Restaurant”

Reviewed 6 August 2015

This pub in my City and I love going there. Love this pub for food, great breakfast to set you up for the day and in the evening delicious variety of meals served and so reasonably priced. Traditional music FREE every night in the bar. Music and comedy gigs in The Warehouse. Always great atmosphere. Staff so friendly and efficient.


“Lovely breakfast, great people, excellent value”

Reviewed 30 July 2015

Dolans is a lovely pub offering a good breakfast in lovely surrounding with friendly staff. Have had breakfast there on numerous occasions (10+) over the years and always came away satisfied and happy. The staff are lovely and as an aside free top ups on the coffee! Excellent value for us coffee drinkers who like decent coffee!


“Dolan's in Limerick, small but mighty!”

Reviewed 30 July 2015

Wonderful food, entertainment and service. We ate there three times and loved it more each time we visited. Literally around the corner from the Clarion where we stayed. Bit on the dark side for lighting.


 

“Great Irish Pub Experience”

Reviewed 29 July 2015

We went to Dolan's to experience the Irish music in a traditional pub setting. We were not disappointed as we were treated to hours of classic Irish music by Leo on the guitar and Niamh on the penny whistle, the fiddle, and guitar. The crowd was very mixed, about half international/half local. All were invited to join in the songs. Leo was so much fun and offered great song and a historical perspective. Fabulous night all for the cost of a few drinks (although I was tempted to try the mussels which looked really good).


“Great food, great people and great atmosphere”

Reviewed 21 July 2015

Went there for d inner and music on a Friday eve. Busy, but not crazy, good Irish music, great seafood chowder and Irish stew. Went back on a Sunday. More subdued, but just as good.


 

“A Proper Traditional night! 🍀🇮🇪”

Reviewed 14 July 2015

We were visiting Dolans after a great night we had the previous Friday. Didn't think it could be bettered. We had the most fantastic evening! There was a couple of lads singing with guitar and mandolin. Lots of Liverpool songs which made my night. Also a French choir sung, who happened to be in the bar! Brilliant!
To keep it short, it's the friendliest and most welcoming place we visited in Limerick. It has to be a must for anyone after a proper Irish night


“Great time and great food in Limerick at Dolan's!”

Reviewed 13 July 2015

Not only is the food excellent but the selection of beer is very extensive. They also had live music (which I think they have every night) which was a nice addition to the evening. The seafood chowder and fish and chips were both excellent and from what I saw people really enjoyed the vegetable curry as well.


“Good food good music”

Reviewed 2 July 2015

Went here for dinner and drinks with friends. Place was almost full up when we got there, ended up sharing a big table with a regular that was there alone. Ordered food, which was delicious We did have to wait quite a while for our food but the waiter/manager(?) kept us updated on the delay and we didn't mind as the Guinness was flowing. Stayed for a bit of live local music which was a nice touch. All in all a great pub that delivers an authentic Irish feel.


“A music lovers must.”

Reviewed 22 June 2015

Dolans is a magical place, a bastion of eclecticism. Three of the best gigs I was ever at were in Dolans; David Gray, Damien Dempsey, and Paddy Casey. The raucous You Tube Kings, The Rubberbandits call Dolans home. Literally anyone could be on the bill.

Donal Ryan Award winning author

Cara In-flight magazine

10th Apr 2014

 


The hopping Dolans Warehouse. It is a brilliant venue – as good as any in the country – which every month plays host to dozens of musicians, comedians and the odd travelling economist.

David McWilliams

David McWilliams Economist Broadcaster

16th Apr 2014

 


 But for real craic (fun), good Irish music and a pint of ­Guinness, the place to head in the evening is Dolan’s on Dock Road, owned by Valerie and Mick Dolan since 1994. They host traditional music in the bar every night and whoever turns up can play. Out the back there are two large live music venues for big names and bigger craic!

The Australian.com


24th Nov 2014

Don't leave Limerick without a visit to Dolan's for a few pints a bite to eat and a late night gig. Check their web site, you never know who might be playing there. Highly recommended.


14/11/2013 Lovely pub but is somewhat remote.   It's not far off the main area but the appearance of the street there leads you to feel off track. Food is wonderful.  We enjoyed the garlic-mussels appetiser, the chicken curry, the bacon pesto pasta and the Irish stew. Atmosphere is cosy without that forced decorated feel.   Love the candles on the table and the fire.   Good...

SW Addison Ill USA

U SA

14th Nov 2013


 

13/9/2013 Local musicians made the night at this friendly place! The local patrons showed us epic hospitality! Thank you Limerick! Long live the Defence Force too! ESP...

Teofilia R San Antonio, TX USA

13th Aug 2013

 


Ranked #2 of 17 nightlife in Limerick 25 reviews “Great Pub” 25/10/2013 “Great stuff” 14/10/2013 Category: Bar/ Clubs A lively pub where musicians (or musician wannabes) put on impromptu performances over a pint of...

Trip advisor

20th Nov 2013


 

“Great Pub”   We went to this pub by recommendation. It's a nice pub with great live music...it was our first taste of traditional Irish pub. Staff is very friendly and the food is amazing!

S. Horgan Nth York

25th Oct 2013

 

Popped in here for breakfast, friendly cheerful barman gave us a warm welcome even though it was v early indeed, just after 9 am, breakfast was brilliant !

PW Addison

14th Oct 2013


 

We had a couple pints of Guinness and heard some outstanding music, both traditional and otherwise, including a young guy who played Flamenco/Latin music on a regular standing harp (not kidding!). Excellent + fun...

PA Nolan London

2nd Dec 2012


 

Great for night out and fantastic food :D...

Ciara O'Connell woz Murphy

12th Nov 2013


 

Great selection of drinks and whiskey. Delightful service ....which has so far been all of Ireland. Ordered: Mussels: ok, fresh but the broth base is more creamy Fish and Chips ... Perfect bar food.  Couldn't change it one bit! Irish Stew.... Absolutely delicious! Hearty ... Could tell brewing for a bit as potatoes were dissolved Toffee Cheesecake ... Favourite part of meal.  Totally different from the cheesecake in the States, very light, almost like a firm pudding consistency with hints of toffee. Top off meal with Connemara Whiskey + Live Irish Music.... Plays around 9, but plan to be flexible with time.  May start late if a game is playing in the...

Esta Texas

29th Nov 2013


 

Love this pub, if you’re looking for a memorable night Dolans is the place great staff, great banter and great music it has a friendly fun atmosphere, never a dull night even on a school...

lesley haugh

29th Nov 2013